Live In Texas: Willie Nelson, Live In Austin, Tx

Tune in to KBEC Thursday at 7pm to hear the entire Live From Austin, TX record from Willie Nelson

While much of Willie Nelson's band and setlist have changed so little over the decades that some find his performances as predictable (and perhaps as comforting) as a religious ritual, this 1990 recording from Austin City Limits offers a few surprises. The revival of the vintage "Bloody Mary Morning" turns into an extended interplay between Nelson's guitar and Mickey Raphael's harmonica, suggesting that Nelson and Family were the quintessential jam band long before that term was in vogue, while the conversational phrasing he brings to Kris Kristofferson's "Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again)" shows the spirit of a jazz singer. Of the newer material, "Still Is Still Moving to Me" is pure Texas Zen. He plainly feels at home within the studio of Austin City Limits (a series he helped launch), where the close confines accentuate the musical intimacy. --Don McLeese

Track Listing

1. Whiskey River

2. Stay All Night
3. Good-Hearted Woman
4. Medley (Ain't It Funny How Time Slips Away, Crazy, Night Life)
5. If You've Got The Money, Honey
6. There's Nothing I Can Do About It Now
7. Help Me Make It Through The Night
8. Me & Bobby McGee
9. Lovin' Her Was Easier Then Anything I'll Ever Do Again
10. Bloody Mary Morning
11. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
12. On The Road Again
13. Always On My Mind
14. Still Is Still Moving To Me w/Shelby Lynne
15. Milk Cow Blues w/Shelby Lynne